You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Home > Administration > Employee Status
Employee Status

As time goes on, you'll likely need to retire/deactivate employees on your Scheduler site. You also may need to simply hide certain users from appearing on schedules. These can both be accomplished by setting a user's "Status" in their profile.

 


Getting Our Bearings

To begin, go here (Admin Tab -> Employees -> Employees)

 

Click "Edit" next to the employee in question. This allows us to view and change their profile.

Near the start of the profile, you should see a "Status" dropdown, this is where we assign a user as Active, Hidden, or Inactive.

There should be a GIF here!

Active

  • Most users in the system will have an "Active" status. They will appear on schedules, reports, etc. as expected.


Hidden

  • "Hidden" users will be able to log in & can potentially be made a supervisor, but they will not show up on any schedules or reports.
     
  • They can still be selected to receive Message Blasts.
     
  • Any changes they make to someone's schedule are still "fingerprinted" for accountability purposes.


Inactive

  • If someone has retired, quit, or otherwise left the department, and is no longer an active employee, you can set them to "Inactive".

There should be a picture here!

  • When you select the "Inactive" status, an additional field will appear called "Date deactivated". You must specify a Deactivation Date for inactive users. This can be the current date, a future date, or even a past date.

    If you select a future date, this user will still be considered "active" until that date arrives, at which point they will automatically be deactivated. Once a user reaches their Deactivation Date, they will no longer appear on any schedules or reports, nor will they be able to log in. If their deactivation date lies in the middle of a calendar period, they will still appear on the schedule for that whole period. This is because that user was active for some earlier portion of that period, and we want to retain those shifts.

     
    • e.g. Let's say your site displays one month at a time (i.e. monthly calendar periods), and you want to deactivate Officer John Doe on the 20th of the month. Officer Doe will no longer be able to log in once the 20th arrives, and his schedule will be wiped clean from the 20th onward. However, Officer Doe will be displayed on that final month's calendar until the next month arrives (i.e. next calendar period). This is so we can still see those shifts from the 1st-19th.
       
  • Any and all shifts, time offs, OT's, etc. that they have scheduled on or after their deactivation date will be completely wiped from their schedule from the deactivation date onwards. This occurs as soon as you set a deactivation date for a user and save their profile, even if the deactivation date is in the future.
     
  • Schedules, reports, & user data prior to their Deactivation Date will still be saved & accessible for record-keeping purposes, and you can access these like normal.
     
  • NOTE: Restoring a deactivated user to "Active" status will NOT restore their shifts that were removed due to the deactivation, so tread carefully when deactivating users.

  


Organizing Employees

With three different status options, we'll want each employee to be grouped based on their status. To do this, we break "Inactive" employees into their own group, and highlight "Hidden" employees (because they are still technically active in a sense).

There should be a picture here!

A) These are Active users. They have a standard green background, and no special indicators on their row.

B) This is a Hidden user. Note how his row is tinted blue and he has a "Not on Schedule" indicator beneath his email address.

C) These are Inactive users. This field is located at the very bottom of the Employee list, and is collapsed by default. You can expand this section to see inactive users by clicking the "Toggle Visibility" text. Even if a user's deactivation date is in the future, they will appear in this section, along with their deactivation date, like the other inactive users.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful

scroll to top icon